Dark urine and weird odor one day after shot

Buy Lab Tests Online

eli

After I take my testosterone shot, the next day, my urine gets really yellow with a strong weird odor. My urine is not that color and doesn't have that odor at other times. Is that simply my LOW SHBG pissing out the testosterone ?

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Re-Ride

Very unlikely your T injection an issue of concern here. I'm not a doctor. If you have other symptoms such pain in abdomen, swelling or tenderness I'd get it checked out. in general the color or urine can change for many reasons. Color isn't a litmus test of your metabolic function. For that you want a urinalysis and a comprehensive metabolic panel. A simple search will take you pages with photos and explanations on why urine is often a certain color.

Prof

This happened to me and I was taking NAC. So I don't think it is from liver and my liver and kidney tests are fine. Anybody know what was going on?

Ricko Steamboat

I’m having this all the time, I drink a lot of water but since starting TRT my urine is always darker and stronger smelling , it must be related to pinning as it is a lot darker after first day and declines a bit by 3rd day????, anyone else can explain this, a doctor friend said it’s probably tannins caused by TRT ????

Systemlord

My urine will be very dark and I mean dark on TRT is not consuming enough iron supplements, which I require an enormous amount. Taking lots of iron supplements makes my urine normal color.

My urine would smell funny too.

For newcomers having this problem, it’s best to check ferritin and iron saturation.

The reason why the dark urine dissipates after the first day is the hormonal peak is over, the creation of hemoglobin influenced by testosterone uses up iron, therefore iron is recovering after the hormonal peak and the body is pulling iron from storage/ferritin.

The end game scenario is ferritin will be depleted over time.