Topical Finasteride bad if DHT is still high?

Buy Lab Tests Online

JacksonCu

Hello all,

I have very high DHT on TRT cream. (>290!, @ Quest, range 12-65)
I've titrated to 20% T, 1 click (50 mg cream) every morning, and 1 click in the evening 3x/wk.
(I know I should probably switch to 15% cream and apply 2 clicks a day)
I've been getting some acne on my face, shoulders and back.

EDIT: My goals are:
-- Bring DHT down to 1-2x the max of the reference range (from 5x(!))
----- in order to stop the acne

-- improved hair re-growth would be a huge bonus (see below)

I'm thinking of starting topical Finasteride because it DOES leak into the blood SOMEWHAT, and I have been losing my hair for 15 years. So it would be a two-fer.

EDIT: As per this study, topical application produces MUCH LESS serum Finasteride levels and a concomitant SMALLER REDUCTION in DHT, with the same hair regrowth:

Do the bad side effects of Finasteride appear even if DHT is in the high normal range during use?
IOW are the bad side effects only when DHT is reduced below normal, and nonexistent if DHT remains high?

Funny though that my hair loss has actually started reversing recently with microneedling + 15% Minoxidil. I've been applying T cream on insides of thighs and elbows, and backs of knees. I stopped applying some of it on the scrotum because it may have caused PSA to spike to 4 (which went down some now, to 2.5). Urinary flow is good except if I drink too much water and need to go bad at 4 AM with a woody, then it's a bit slow.

All other blood markers are good: total and free T high normal, E2 mid high, Prolactin low normal, SHBG mid-hi normal, hematocrit slightly up, LDL and HDL about the same; BP moved up to 120/80, ferritin good. Trigs <70, HDL=65. hs-CRP <0.3, A1c 5.2, fasting insulin <4.