Lifting After Donating Blood

Buy Lab Tests Online

Scott Myslinski

How long should I wait to lift after donating blood? I've read at least 24 hours, but some say your red blood and immune system can be impaired for up to a week or weeks.

I'm talking about a full-body, intense workout.

Thanks,
Davis

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Esq

I'm new to blood donation, but the first time I donated I tried to lift about 24 hours later (donation was mid-morning and I tried to lift early the next morning) and it was brutal. I was weak, fatigued, and ultimately gave up about half an hour in (usually my lifting sessions are an hour or a little more).
The second time I donated, I waited 48 hours and all was fine. So, based on my limited experience, I'd suggest taking 48 hours off post-donation.
I don't think there's any issue with lifting the day of a donation (before the donation). If anything, I would think it would make you more vascular for the donation.

Loki

I have always been fine the next day... Wouldn't hurt to wait a couple days or at least take it easy the next day...

Saul

I think it depends on how you feel and to make sure you don't faint. I have lifted the next morning and had a great work out and other times I feel flat for a couple days. If you are concerned, just take the next day off, or go light the next day.

Vince

Super Moderator
I work out the same day I donate blood, but I should say I haven't donated blood since February of last year. It is harder but the nice thing is I weigh less after donating, it makes pull-ups and leg raises easier.

Pringle

Lifting

Well that's a terrible bruise, it looks like they poke through your vein.

Yep. I donate every 6 weeks and this is the larger concern. I made this mistake lifting the same day and had major bruising with some bleeding. I find that I need to hydrate well and then lift 24 hours later works well for me.

Buy Lab Tests Online
Defy Medical TRT clinic

Sponsors

cheap enclomiphene