Thyroid blood results while on low carb. Are my results normal?

Buy Lab Tests Online

CROM

I am currently on a low carb, calorie restricted diet to lose weight. I have a good amount of muscle mass as I have been lifting weights for 26 years. I have about 15 to 20 lbs more to lose. I am 45 years old.

When I am NOT dieting my TSH is about 3.40. When I am dieting my TSH goes up to 5.44.

My T3 & T4 is always in normal range on or off diet. My T3 reverse is usually high when ON a low carb diet.

Do my numbers look normal for someone on a low carb, calorie restricted diet? Should I leave it alone? Should I take any meds while dieting.

I had to go to my general doctor yesterday and he wrote me a script for 100 mcg of Synthroid (I didn’t ask him to). I wasn’t planning on taking any thyroid meds until I see my Endo in 5 days.

I thought I've heard people suggest using T3 when RT3 is high. Should I ask my doctor for it or just leave my thyroid alone?

Thyroid Blood Results.png

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Sean Mosher

Your RT3 is way up there.
TSH definitely elevated.
This has to be hampering your goals.
I'd pursue treatment for sure.

Probably low dose NDT with T3 or T3 exclusively.
Would be worth your while to examine the remainder of your hormone profile as well at this point.

Vince

Super Moderator
I agree with Sean, your thyroid levels, especially you reverse T3. Will hurt your weight loss goals.

Your bad thyroid levels, could be from your low carb diet. Your body thinks you're in a fasting state, and it's slowing down your metabolism.

MarkLA

I agree with Sean, your thyroid levels, especially you reverse T3. Will hurt your weight loss goals.

Your bad thyroid levels, could be from your low carb diet. Your body thinks you're in a fasting state, and it's slowing down your metabolism.