Muscle and weight

I've been lifting for 14 months now. I'm not obese but overweight with a belly.
    What I want to in now is. Can I be gaining muscle that I currently do not see and that is why I'm losing weight? In other words I don't think I've really gained much muscle if any but I know I've lost because clothes fit better. Is there such thing as not seeing muscle gain yet loose weight?
    Last edited by Whatzup; 07-12-2018 at 08:06 AM.

2. # ADS
    Purchase From Our Affiliates
    Help Excelmale

Defy

You can lose fat and gain muscle at the same time but you will generally gain weight when adding muscle because it is heavier than fat. When I started working out again about 4 years ago I lost 3 inches in my waist but only lost 2 lbs. I shed a lot of fat and added a great deal of lean muscle. Body fat dropped from 19% down to 10%. My pants were too big and my shirts too tight.

If your clothes are fitting better that is a positive. Your diet, type of workouts, how often you are working out, ability to sleep well, protein intake, and ............all play a role in weight loss, firming up, and putting on additional lean muscle mass.

We have some folks on the forum that can really guide you on this better than I. I just know what worked for me.

Quote Originally Posted by MarkM View Post
    You can lose fat and gain muscle at the same time but you will generally gain weight when adding muscle because it is heavier than fat. When I started working out again about 4 years ago I lost 3 inches in my waist but only lost 2 lbs. I shed a lot of fat and added a great deal of lean muscle. Body fat dropped from 19% down to 10%. My pants were too big and my shirts too tight.

If your clothes are fitting better that is a positive. Your diet, type of workouts, how often you are working out, ability to sleep well, protein intake, and ............all play a role in weight loss, firming up, and putting on additional lean muscle mass.