Injecting questions and Scar Tissue Q's- Side effects / Tissue Damage from Injecting IM long term?

Buy Lab Tests Online

TransitPoloce

Curious if any of the longer term TRT users have experienced any noticeable damage or side effects from regular IM injections?

I currently inject twice /week and rotate between each glute, but vary the exact injection site within the glute. I occasionally do thigh injections, but prefer glutes. I use 27 or 25 gauge needles, and get very little pain.

- What actually happens to the muscle after an IM injection?
- Does the muscle/tissue need to repair itself each time?
- Does it change/damage the muscle at all?
- Does injecting into the same spot 1-2 weeks later go through a scar? Is this bad?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Vince

Super Moderator
I was wondering what length of needle are you using. I do shallow IM with easy touch 27g 1/2" syringe.

Sakuraba39

I have been injecting (thighs) for nearly 15 years. The last 10 or so have been with 27g 1 1/4 needles. I have not noticed any scarring (skin level, anyway, who knows what's going on underneath). There has never been any pain or indication of muscular scarring in all that time.

Recently, however, due to the overwhelming practice of posters here, I switched to 27g 1/2" needles. Specifically, for low dead space needles/syringes. I had never heard of them before until reading posts here. I had a few used syringes sitting around and I pulled back on the plungers and was surprised at all the fluid still in the syringe.

Anyway, back to scarring, I changed to low dead space, fixed needle insulin syringes and while there is very little T waste, there is a fair amount more pain involved that my previous method. I never drew and injected with the same needle. You wouldn't think that the plunger dulls the needle too much, but I'm thinking it does enough to possibly be a factor in scarring.