Thoughts on adrenal suport

Buy Lab Tests Online

munch520

Hello all, I'm a recent newbie here and super appreciative for all the guidance. My intro thread is here (https://www.excelmale.com/forum/showthread.php?8671-New-guy-from-Ohio) with ALL results, but basically I have been diagnosed with Hashimotos thyroiditis and also have low/irregular cortisol.

The thyroid treatment has been underway for 2 mos (100mcg synthroid), and recently I got back the saliva cortisol results, which are below. Basically, OK during AM, low rest of the day, and up at night...which explains the insomnia (waking abruptly, unable to go back to sleep) and pounding heartbeat (not rapid) I'm experiencing.

5am: 6.2ng/mL (range 3.7-9.5)
Noon: 1.9ng/mL (range 1.2-3.0)
6pm: 0.9ng/mL (range 0.6-1.9)
9:30pm: 3.1ng/mL (range 0.4-1.0)

Current protocol for the adrenal insufficiency is:
Standard process: desiccated adrenal 3x/day, symplex m 5x/day, hypothalamus pmg 2x/day
Natural Factors Sensoril ashwagandha (250mg) at night

I did get better sleep for 7-10 days after implementing the above, but have been having more insomnia the last night or two.

I understand that I'm trying to support the adrenals with the above treatment, I'm wondering though if the ashwaghanda is fighting against that support. I get that I want to lower my cortisol at night, but I also want to raise it during the day. I know ashwagandha falls into the apaptogen family, but I have read many studies where in test subjects it reduced cortisol by up to 25% after 60 days...I've also cut out caffeine/stims and now workout ONLY in the AM.

Despite great help from my DO/DC, I am on the books to see an endo in early 2017 for more guidance. In the meantime, I thank you in advance for your thoughts!

Last edited:
Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

munch520