Why is it good to take HCG with testosterone replacement?

Buy Lab Tests Online

LVJR

Guys,

I'm studying diligently to better understand the science behind male hormones. My question is as follows:

Testosterone injections, gels, etc tell the body to turn off the switch from internally producing T.

HCG tells the body to turn the switch back on.

How can taking both of these at the same time be beneficial? Would they not counter each other out or would the drug with the higher dose be dominant?

Am I making sense?

Last edited by a moderator:
Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Nelson Vergel

Founder, ExcelMale.com
This is a great question.

Yes, testosterone replacement shuts down LH and FSH, which shuts down the production of testosterone and sperm by the testicles. So the testicles' Leydig cells start losing volume due to inactivity. They do not die off, they just hibernate and lose size. The testosterone inside of the testicles also decreases which further decreases their size.

HCG mimics LH. It has been shown to make Leydig cells produce testosterone. It has also been shown to increase the amount of testosterone inside the testicles (Intratesticular testosterone or IT). The use of HCG alone to increase testosterone is not as popular as testosterone replacement due to several factors: 1- cost since large doses of HCG would be required, 2- quality of life of HCG alone vs TRT may be worse (this has not been validated by comparison studies), 3- concerns about long term high dose HCG use and its potential effect on desensitization of Leydig cells to it.