How much does giving blood drop blood levels?

Buy Lab Tests Online

RLW

I'm wondering how much giving blood will drop your Hematocrit? Also if anyone knows, I would be interested in finding out how much it drops Feritin?

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Saul

I'm wondering how much giving blood will drop your Hematocrit? Also if anyone knows, I would be interested in finding out how much it drops Feritin?

Ferritin varies from 20 to 50. I am not an expert, but I was told that it is about 30 due to iron, but if you are on TRT and depending on your situation, it can drop more due to the TRT reducing inflamation, and ferritin also being affected by inflammation. That is what I experienced and was told by the Dr. Initially In was around 30 per donation but then when I upped TRT dose, ate better and cut out (mostly) the booze and dairy, it was dropping ~ 40 per donation with testing every couple 4 months. I should add that your body is always absorbing iron from the food you eat, so that will affect the drop (over the long term)and some people absorb more iron than others.

madman

Super Moderator
I'm wondering how much giving blood will drop your Hematocrit? Also if anyone knows, I would be interested in finding out how much it drops Feritin?[/QUyourOTE]

If your ferritin/iron levels are not in a healthy range or you are not getting enough iron through diet/supplementation and you choose to donate frequently as in every 56 days be prepared to run into low ferritin/iron issues as you will loose roughly 225-250 mg iron/ 1 pint (500 ml) whole blood.

For males donating more than 3-4 times per year can make one more prone to having low ferritin/iron stores in the long run so daily intake of iron through diet especially heme iron ( liver/red meat/oysters) or supplementation with iron is a must and is critical to avoid low ferritin/iron issues from too frequent donations.