Hair Loss, Labs Run, Advice Requested

Buy Lab Tests Online

eatliftsleep

I registered specifically to seek advice.

Cliff notes:
I'm starting to bald on the crown and have no history of MPB on either side of my family ever. My 90 year old grandpa has hair as thick as mine. Mom's side the same, all uncles etc.

Injecting 100mg/ml test cyp EW for the past 5 years
175mg Synthroid ED (removed thyroid several years ago)
42 years old

Latest labs:
Testosterone Total 671 ng/dl
Estradial 39 pg/ml
Thyroxine Free .92 ng/dl
TT4 Thyroxine Total 5.80 ug/dl
DHT 995 pg/ml (a bit high as the labs say 106-719 is normal)

I've been on TRT at 100mg/ml test cyp EW, so a relatively low dose. I started "thinking" I was seeing some hair loss about 3 years ago and began taking pictures each month to track (I'm an engineer so my nature to deal in absolutes). I started noticing a pattern where I'd have some burning of the crown of my scalp, accompanied with shedding. This would come and go as would seem the hair loss.

Recently I had one of these hot head episodes, and noticed the shedding, and now a very obvious thinning of the crown. Comparing the pictures it's now very obvious as well.

I had labs run and had them pull DHT. Never had this test before and it seems a bit high.

So with Thyroid coming back normal and DHT being high, I have to believe that is the culprit.

I'd rather not stop TRT, so what options do I have? If MPB ran in my family I'd just go with it, but that's not the case at all, so something else is wrong and should be corrected IMO.

Advice?

Prescribing Urologist hasn't responded to what should be done as of yet, but did mention 1mg ED of Finasteride when we were talking during the blood draw and I mentioned the hair loss and possible DHT issue. I know that stuff is bad, so don't think that's the way to go.

Starting to feel like I know more about this than the doc!

I'm considering a second opinion with a full blown endocrinologist.

Last edited by a moderator: