Will I Lose Muscle Doing Low Carb Plus Intermittent Fasting?

Buy Lab Tests Online

CROM

Hey guys. I’ve been weightlifting for 26 years religiously. Currently I am 215 lbs and trying to get to 195 lbs. I’ve already lost 15lbs. My problem is I am trying to maintain my muscle while just losing fat. I am always obsessed with making sure I get enough protein that I think it prevents me from losing more weight.

Was thinking about trying low carb with intermittent fasting. Has anyone tried this and didn’t lose muscle? Or if I cut my protein to 100gm per day do you think I would lose muscle? I usually take 190gm protein per day. I am on TRT.

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Guided_by_Voices

I have gained muscle (and more importantly health) since doing IF and LC. Listen to the recent podcast from Ben Greenfield with Thomas DeLauer on this topic. It covers this in great detail. Check out leangains as well.

Nashtide

I’m nowhere near as big as you and I not trying to drop as much weight as you, but so far, I’ve managed to drop body fat without losing lbm on a plan similar to yours. I simply reduced overall caloric intake. I’ve done this mostly by reducing carbs. I also follow a modified IF. I don’t eat after 6:30pm and have breakfast around 7:30am. So certainly not strict. I think the key to maintaining lbm while losing bf is to do it slowly and keep protein intake high.

junglejim2612

I went from 279 to 178 between May 15 and Thanksgiving of last year using fasting.
Then I signed on with Defy and hit the gym and the results have been amazing.
People that know me and haven't seen me in a while don't recognize me.

JohnTaylorHK