Total Testosterone #s based on study and muscle growth question?

Buy Lab Tests Online

Riptide

Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting but I've been poking around for a few months--I'm about to have my first consult with Defy medical and so I've been trying to educate myself on what is obviously a large decision with lifetime implications (hopefully mostly good!)

Anyhow, I'm sure some of you are familiar with this study: https://www.physiology.org/doi/full/10.1152/ajpendo.2001.281.6.e1172

Which gave healthy young males 25mg, 50mg, 125mg, 300mg, and 600mg of Test E respectively (12 men per group) weekly for 20 weeks. They were instructed not to engage in weight training or moderate/intense cardio. After 20 weeks the 125mg group gained 3.4 kg of lean mass, the 300mg group gained 5.2 kg and the 600mg group gained 7.9 kg. Okay, probably not surprising to many folks at this point...

What has me perplexed is the average total testosterone of each group of 12 on these doses. They say at 125mg a week the mean nadir tt was 542 ng/dl , and at 300mg 1345 ng/dl. I'm curious because from what I've read 125mg pushes most men into upper ranges of test levels and 300mg would be in AAS supraphysical ranges by more than a 100 points or so.

Second, a gain in the 125mg group of about 7.5 pounds over 20 weeks with NO weight training seems incredibly high doesn't it? These were healthy young men before the test so we can assume an average test of upper 600s at least before right? So why then at 125mg with no exercise are they growing so rapidly?

Do you guys think the TT numbers are misleading because the nadir of a 1 per week injection protocol could see dramatically lower numbers than at the peak a day after injection?