Please review my latest bloodwork

Buy Lab Tests Online

Mojo88

Please take a peek at my latest bloodwork and offer some advice/opinions. I am 70 years old. I self-inject 120mg every 10 days. This latest blood draw was on day 4 after injection. Been doing TRT for about 9 years now, as my testicles can testify by their teeny size.

Went to my doc today (urologist) and he suggested reducing my dosage, as my Hematocrit and Hemoglobin are getting out of range. Honestly, I've been thinking of reducing the dosage anyway, my hands seem colder than usual and I'm getting small headaches, almost suspecting that thicker blood may have something to do with it. But with my T level at 814, it seems like a no-brainer to maybe just cut the dose in half. However, I am no expert on this stuff. I am seeing the doc again next week for cystoscopy (and possible TURP, ugh) and we will discuss T dosage further. I would like to be more educated on subject prior to next appt.

Thanks for any help. Dave F.

Attachments

• Bloodwork_3-28-2021.jpg
    Bloodwork_3-28-2021.jpg
    227.3 KB · Views: 63
Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Cataceous

Super Moderator
You're averaging 12 mg per day—cypionate?—, which is ok. The injection pattern is the problem. The simplest thing to try is increasing the dose frequency, ideally to at least twice a week. This would be 42 mg every 3.5 days. The problem with injecting every 10 days is that it is two full half-lives, assuming cypionate and typical absorption. This means that peak serum testosterone after injections can be four times higher than pre-injection troughs. Rough estimates from your lab work put the peak at 1,400 ng/dL and the trough at 350. There is some evidence that this kind of variation in levels contributes to hemoglobin and hematocrit problems. With twice-weekly injections the variation in serum levels would be more subdued, possibly with peaks in the 800s and troughs in the 500s. This is much closer to normal physiology.

Mojo88