Help with Follow-Up Labs Cost and Alternatives

Buy Lab Tests Online

Reason

I have my first follow-up consult with Defy and the labs they've requested are double the initial cost projection of $250, to about $500 so I'm looking for help figuring out my options.

I've Kaiser in NorCal and they won't cover labs from outside network physicians. My primary didn't want to even do a physical for my first Defy consult after she learned I was investigating TRT, so I highly doubt she will be open to prescribing the labs herself. I don't want to lie to her and I doubt if I switched physicians that any other Kaiser doctor would be different.

Defy wants:
CMP-14, CBC, Lipid Panel, PSA, SHBG, Test F/T, E2 Sen, DHEA-S, TSH, FT3/FT4, DHT, Prolactin, and Ferritin

Which seems totally fine and I agree with their request.

I checked Discountlabs.com and their prices aren't much better: $493 if I pick the best bundle possible and add a few extra individual tests.

I'm a college professor in California (expensive), so I don't have all the money in the world.

Any advice?

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor
This is an example of trying to balance cost vs necessity when it comes to labs. Although I’m not privy to your chart by your screen name, there may be some labs that can be deferred or removed if budget prohibits. With that said, what was the exact lab cost that staff gave you because last time I checked those labs didn’t come anywhere close to $500?

Systemlord

I've Kaiser in NorCal and they won't cover labs from outside network physicians.

I've also learned Kaiser will not have anything to do with anything outside their network, I'm planning going with Defy shortly and having them provide the hormone management, AI support (needed) and thyroid treatment (doubtful) if necessary and continue filling my prescription through Kaiser to save on cost. This affords me more options with Defy for other services such as supplentments.