HCG Along With TRT??

Buy Lab Tests Online

dangeli

Good morning. I'm new to the site as of yesterday and need some feedback seeing that I am brand new to this space.

I'm a 49-year-old male 6'1 195lbs and starting TRT for the first time. The doctor has suggested 160mg of Testosterone Cypionate along with HCG 500iu SubQ twice weekly. I'm seeing a lot of mixed reviews on HCG and I think it's the information overload that is causing me to second guess using HCG. I dought I'm ever having kids at my age, but I don't what to suffer shrinkage in my testis.

Any experience and feedback would be much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Danny

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Cataceous

Super Moderator
A suggestion unrelated to hCG is to consider a lower starting dose. The average guy in his prime naturally makes 6-7 mg of testosterone per day. Your doctor is proposing to start you with 16 mg per day. This is poor practice. A common expression we use in TRT is "low and slow", meaning you start with the lowest reasonable dose and only if needed do you increase in fairly small increments, allowing substantial time between evaluations. If you trim that starting dose to 50 mg of testosterone cypionate twice a week then that's an average of 10 mg per day of testosterone, still a little above the normal natural production range of 3-9 mg per day.

The pros of hCG usually outweigh the cons. It typically lessens testicular atrophy and may preserve fertility under TRT. The luteinizing hormone that hCG replaces may have other functions that have not been well elucidated. It's possible that maintaining those functions with hCG yields health benefits. On the other hand, hCG is an imperfect replacement for LH. It has a much longer half-life, which may result in excessive creation of estradiol. This can be problematic for sensitive individuals or for those who already have above-average estrogen.

Seth