Gel or inject ?

Buy Lab Tests Online

Rlud

I have been using T gel for many years, 2 packets of 1% , 50mg /packet / day.
I am considering a change to injectable test/cyp, really just for the cost factor. I just moved to medicare and the deductable plus the cost of the gel is pretty high. I am wondering about the cycle of high to low between injections. Can you notice it ? And is injecting a problem getting the needles? I'm assuming a small bore needle so it isnt painful to do this.

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

madman

Super Moderator
When using the lower strength (1%) big pharma transdermal gels most men will need the higher end dose of 100 mg T/day (10 g of gel) to achieve high-end or in some cases very high T levels.

Seeing as you have been using transdermal T for 2 years and most likely feel good overall then if cost is the issue I would look into a compounded transdermal T cream before jumping on injections.

You need to keep in mind that although many may tend to prefer injections over transdermal the main benefit of a transdermal application is that it provides intraday T level variations similar to normal circadian secretion.

*The daily dosing frequency of the topical gel products results in a PK profile with a resemblance to that of endogenous T in younger males

Many end up using compounded transdermal T creams as the strength is much higher 5-20%.

Much less needs to be applied let alone the overall cost of the medication is much cheaper.

Most are using 20% strength (200mg/mL) and unfortunately many end up on that 200 mg T twice daily application protocol which would surely result in absurdly high TT/FT levels let alone steady-state.

Many can easily achieve healthy let alone very high T levels on much less especially when applied strictly scrotal.

Some men prefer a once-daily application protocol.