Kids & weight lifting

Buy Lab Tests Online

James

Do any of you guys know or have any boys who got into weight lifting at an early age and think that it may have stunt their growth? Just got my son back from the pediatrician and he's at the top of their charts for both height and weight. He's 12, goes 5'6" and weighs 140 lbs. He shows abs, so he's fairly lean. He wants to start lifting weights but another guy said it will stunt his growth. Does anyone have any personal experience with this or thoughts?

Defy Medical TRT clinic doctor

Loki

I have 2 boys and have trained dozens for football camps and combines... I started lifting when puberty hit and if anything it helped me grow and gain size quickly... I would take it easy until that point though.... I don't start kids on anything serious until puberty...

PAUL-E

I have 2 boys and have trained dozens for football camps and combines... I started lifting when puberty hit and if anything it helped me grow and gain size quickly... I would take it easy until that point though.... I don't start kids on anything serious until puberty...
I agree with this I let my 5 and 8 year old grab a set of dumbbells and do some curls but nothing serious till puberty, Still good to be physically active IMO bodyweight exercises are best before puberty.

Vince

Super Moderator
It appears that Olympic gymnastics women are shorter then average woman, or maybe shorter women are just better at gymnastics.

James

I train at a local gym. It allows kids to lift at 12....for insurance compliance more than their concerns for my kids safety. I think he's there as far as puberty, shows most of the signs. My wife's on board, so that's not an issue. I'm leaning towards waiting until 13, for no other reason than my peace of mind. Thanks guys.